Simplicity in Food

So, I’m a bit of a stickler about simplicity!  My best friends describe me as the “jeans and tee-shirt” girl.  Everything I love is simple.  Simple music.  Simple movies but most of all SIMPLE food.  Oh,don’t misunderstand me.  I LOVE complex flavors,built by a great chef but sometimes I think one can overdo it.  Take for example Rachel Ray.  Half the time she dumps stuff on food that has absolutely NO BUSINESS being there. 

To a certain extent I think sometimes you can ruin food by dumping a TON of nonsense on it.  This being said I’m big,big on simplicity in food.  The basics, the things we eat over and over AGAIN are the very best.  To prove my point here’s a favorite recipe of mine.  A simple meat sauce that is tremendously good on pasta or can be used to make chilli.   (This is a basic staple and I love to tinker but I don’t stray too far from the way I usually do it.)

ingredients:

4 to 6 large,plump ripe tomatoes

1 tube of tomato pasta

1 jar of  any brand of tomato sauce

2 carrots

1 large onion

Fresh garlic (Roasted or otherwise)

1 package of 96/4 ground hamburg or ground turkey

2 to 4 sausage links (In the casing or not)

1 cup of Extra virgin Olive Oil

Herbs:  basil,parsley,and oregano

Salt

 Pepper

Sugar

In a large pot pour your extra virgin olive oil,when that comes to a ripple, put in the sausage,and hamburg,and brown slowly.  Once it’s browned remove from the pan and put off to the side.

Cut the carrots and onions into bite sized pieces and add in the onions, In the same pot as you cooked the sausage.  Cook until the carrots are soft  (Tip this is a trick I use to get my veggie hating nephews to eat them!  Shh!  Don’t tell!)

For a great tasting tomato cut the bottom so it can lay flat, cut the top,sprinkle salt,pepper and a pinch of sugar,spray cooking spray on an oven sheet,and roast at 350 until the tomatoes are soft. (Tip: You can also do this trick with peppers if you want them in your sauce.)

Now add in the tomato sauce, herbs and the salt and pepper, crush the tomatoes with a potato masher,and pour in the sauce,add the tomato paste to thicken,and let cook on the stove top.

At this point readd the sausage and hamburg as well as a sprinkle of sugar to eliminate the tart taste of the sauce

*There you are.  A simple and tasty sauce that goes great on pasta or is even perfect for lasagna or just alone.* 

Enjoy!

About theadventourousfoodie79

I'm a 31 year old from Massachusetts who believes life is meant to be lived and food is meant to be eaten.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

